top of page
Search
  • ryandwestrup

Take the Keys and Drive

Do you love driving? Do you remember your first car? My first truck was a Ford F150 with a stick shift and bucket seats. Before I was given the keys to this truck, my dad made me learn how to change the oil and a flat tire. I then had to learn how to drive a stick shift by practicing in the front property. Once accomplishing these things I was given the keys to that pickup. I had all the freedom in the world that I could imagine. I took those keys and went places. What if I would have been unwilling to learn how to change the oil first. What if I wasn't willing to learn how to drive the stick shift. What if I was afraid of breaking down after being given the keys. I would have never been able to experience that freedom or independence. I would have never gotten to experience all that was to come.


Have you ever been given the keys to something and aren't willing to accept them?


Moses did this when God spoke to him in the burning bush. God gave him the keys to go and set the Israelites free from bondage. He was unwilling at first to accept this responsibility though due to not feeling adequate or having to do something hard that he didn't think he could do. Once Moses said yes to God, while not easy and while their was a lot for Moses to learn God used him and Moses got to experience something greater than he would have without saying yes.


I've done this many times in my life. I've been entrusted to lead. I've been given the title of pastor. I've been given the opportunity to speak to thousands of people from a stage. I've been too scared. I've felt inadequate. I've shied away from some of these opportunities in the past and it's kept me from experiencing all that God has for me or from Him using me. I am done living life in fear of stepping out and trying. Join me and take the keys and drive. You can do it. You are empowered.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page