top of page
Search
  • ryandwestrup

Intention or Action

Recently, a friend and mentor Michael Hirsch gifted me a book called Change Your World, How anyone, Anywhere Can Make A Difference, by John C. Maxwell and Rob Hokins. I've just started this book but there are a couple things that have really stood out to me that I liked. I've always had this notion to change my world around me. Isn't it interesting that when most of us were asked what we wanted to do when we grow up we said something about wanting to help people. And that's what we do. When we sell something we are helping someone, when we are creating something we are doing it to help someone. When we are performing a service or skill we are doing it to serve or help someone.


I was recently asked if I am more naturally a dreamer or doer. The way that I want to answer that question is "I am a dreamer." I am definitely always dreaming about the future and what could be or what I might or might not be doing. My top strength according to Strength Finders 2.0 is Futuristic. There is a quote in this book, Change Your World from Brad Montague that says, "Dare to Dream, but please also do, for dreamers are many, but doers are few." I like this quote a lot and it stuck out to me specifically because I was recently asked which one I am. It is great to be a dreamer, but unless we are able to put our dreams to action or have someone help us, then those dreams are just that, dreams. I have learned over the years, that because I am more naturally a dreamer and I honestly am not that skilled at any one thing I have had to surround myself with people that are. The one thing I am good at is inspiring people to action and empowering them to use their gifts and talents. By doing this I have been able to help make dreams come true.


Sometimes though I can't delegate my dreams onto someone else. There are dreams that I have to be the one to take action on or nothing will happen. For example, if I want to be the best dad and husband to my family, then I am the only one that can take action. If I want to make sure we are debt free and crazy generous then I need to be the one to take action and make those dreams come true. Therefore, to make those dreams come true, I can't just sit and imagine them all day. I need to take small incremental actions each day that will help me get to the place of my dream. Dreaming is great, but we must also do!


That brings me to the second point in the book that I really liked that I thought was powerful. It is all about good intentions vs. good actions. On page 39 of the book I'm reading it says, "People with good intentions want to add value to others but find reasons not to do it. People with good actions want to add value to others and find ways to do it." It doesn't matter if I have some huge dream or good intentions. Unless I'm willing to take action nothing is actually going to happen. The good intentions don't actually mean anything. The action is what means something. Can you imagine sitting down in front of your boss or loved one telling them, "well I meant to do that, I just didn't get around to it," vs. being able to tell them, "it has been completed."


So, I have dreams to be crazy generous one day. I want to be the best dad and husband I can be. I want to be an influential leader that people look to and are willing to follow. I want to be a confident and bold communicator that inspires people to action. I dream of Life.Church Norman being known by the people serving and loving one another in the community, not just by the beautiful building on the corner of Highway 9 and Imhoff. I dream of connecting people that have never been connected before. I dream of trying things in the church and non-profit world that haven't been tried before. But, I can't just dream. And honestly I can't just wake up and fulfill these dreams tomorrow. I have to take small incremental action today towards those dreams. That may mean, that I need to wake up a little earlier to read or write. That may mean that I need to be present with my family when I am home. I need to make a budget telling my dollars where they can go today instead of spending money with no vision or direction.


I'm a dreamer, that is doing things to make those dreams come true!





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page