top of page
Search
  • ryandwestrup

The Letter



What do you do when you want to tell someone something that you can't communicate with or that can't understand what you are saying to them now? Well, you write them a letter. And that is exactly what this post is. It is a letter to my son Hudson. This past weekend Kara and I got to stand before our church with other families and commit to raising our son in a home that is pursuing Christ. In preparation for Child Dedication weekend our LifeKids Pastor encouraged us to write this letter to our child so here is a version of mine that I want my son to read one day.


Like I have said before, I write these blog posts more for myself than anyone else, but if you are reading this I pray it is an encouragement to you to live your life in a way that points those that look up to you towards Jesus.


Dear Hudson,


You are the son I never knew I wanted or needed. I love you so much. I want you to know that your mom and I are already so proud of you. I say that now so that you know we are proud of who you are, not because of anything you have done. We both love you so much and honestly couldn't imagine life without you now. You are the best thing that happened to us both and we can't wait to see the world through your eyes.


Hudson, I want you to know that God also loves you. I pray that as you grow up you learn and experience God's love for you. As you experience that love yourself, I hope that you love others the same way, so that they may one day have a relationship with Jesus Christ.


Hudson I have prayed that you identify those God given talents and use those to fulfill the purpose that God has laid out before you. I hope you learn to lead others by serving them first. May you grow up to understand your identity in Christ and that you have worth in Him. May you never get distracted by the voices or lies that want to tell you anything else.


As I write this letter you are so little that we don't quite know or understand what your personality will be like. We don't know what you will be good at or what you will like. We do know that you are so fun and interesting to watch. You are beginning to notice things around you. You really like to watch momma. You have begun smiling and even laughing. You really like it when Grandma kisses you on the neck or when momma talks to you in the mornings. Your mom and I love taking walks with you at parks, around the neighborhood, and the University of Oklahoma Campus. I love when you take naps in my arms in the evenings after work. You my son are the most fascinating blessing that I have ever experienced in my life. I am truly so thankful for you.


I want you to know that I love your mother so much as well. I love watching her learn how to be your mom. She is so good at it. She is crazy in love with you. She's pretty resilient. We both will and are going to do everything in our power to point you to Jesus and lay a foundation for you to stand on that will be sturdy and unshakable. We will do our best to set you up for success, but most importantly to pursue God's call on your life.


Hudson, know that you are loved, you are called, you are equipped, you are empowered, you are blessed, you a child of God, you are my son, Hudson Beal Westrup.



Love,

Your Dad, Ryan

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page