top of page
Search
  • ryandwestrup

Leadership - Sounds Cool.

Platform. Prestige. Position. I‘ve always wanted to be known for my exploits. I’ve always wanted to do something big that I was appreciated for. Lately, I’ve recognized that maybe my life isn’t about these things. I’m asking the question, what if my life is not about me getting noticed, but it is about helping others get noticed. What if my life is not my own. What if it is for others?


Easy to say, but hard to live out. I used to want to lead so bad. I wanted to have power and be seen as the one in charge, because that would make me "enough" or "cool" or some distorted thought like that. I didn't want to be the one being told what to do. I wanted to be the one telling others what to do. I know its kinda sickening to even write these words out right now and I hope you won't judge me too much. It is just how I thought and what I thought leadership was. I wanted a platform to stand on so that I could teach others and lead others to something. You know what's funny. I probably wouldn't have even known where to lead people, because I didn't quite know where I was going.


Years later I have actually had the opportunity to step into leadership. I have learned that leadership is less about telling others what to do and more about serving and supporting others. It's more about helping others use their gifts and talents to accomplish their dreams and the mission in front of them. Leadership is less about having your own platform, and more about helping others stand on their own. It's about pushing and pulling people to success and less about your own success.


Leadership is not easy. It's actually quite challenging. It's sad and difficult. This past year I have been put in situations to make decisions that are not the most popular or don't make you the most liked person. I have also had the humbling, but also painful opportunity to carry burdens and grievances of those I lead.


I use to think I wanted a platform. Now I realize that I don't need one to lead. I just need to serve, support, listen, empathize, push, pull, and empower. To lead is less about me winning and more about helping others win. This year, I am on a journey redefining what winning looks like and winning for me is less about me. It is truly about others. And you know what...It's actually more fun that way. I get more out of seeing others succeed and the joy on their faces than seeing others watch me win.


Here's to redefining what winning looks like and the joy of helping others succeed



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page