top of page
Search
  • ryandwestrup

The Perfect Photo

It was freaking cold. That's what I was thinking when I got out of the car. Kara and I had driven down to the Myriad Gardens, because one of our favorite Coffee places, Junction Coffee was down there. We were going to get a coffee and walk around the gardens. As we were getting out of the car we noticed a younger couple that had just parked in front of us getting out of their car. When they got out though, I noticed he was in a light weight black sweater with jeans and she was in a short skirt and very thin blouse. Now, before you start thinking that I'm going to be inappropriate, I'm saying all this because what they were wearing was not at all warm enough for what the temperatures and wind were that day.


As Kara and I began walking to Junction Coffee on the north side of the park they were walking about 50 feet in front of us. All of a sudden we looked over and the guy in the black sweater was on one knee proposing and there were two or three photographers around trying to capture the moment the best they could. Kara looked over at me and stated, "she had to have known that was coming. You would never have gotten me out here dressed like that without me knowing that you were going to propose." We both laughed together as I thought about Kara wearing a short skirt with no jacket in the cold. Anyone that knows Kara, knows she will always be in comfortable clothing and she will also always be warm.


We decided to grab our coffee and go, instead of walk around, because it was just too cold and uncomfortable for us on that day. As we made our way back to our car we noticed the young couple go back to their car and grab coats and then head back out to what I would assume dinner or something. This got me thinking. They did that whole proposal without coats for, what I would assume, the perfect picture. Wow, a set up proposal so that you could get a perfect photo in the freezing cold.


As I pondered why someone would do that (I'm assuming she had to have known) and take out the surprise, I thought about how most all of us do this. We as humans always put our best selves forward. We always want others to see us in our best light, so we put a metaphorical mask on or we make ourselves look like we have it all together no matter what is happening on the inside. I recently got some feedback from a leader that I respect a lot to embrace my imperfections and quit trying to hide them. Everyone around me already knows what I am not good at so why try to hide them.


This feedback was brought to my attention because I have spent the majority of my life trying to prove why I am enough, as an athlete, a husband, a pastor, a leader, and as a friend. Without knowing it this is exhausting and it really hasn't gotten me anywhere, minus just trying really hard to hide the areas of my life that I don't want others to see or to hide the qualities about myself that I don't like.


I haven't figured out how to fully do this, but I'm beginning to takes steps forward in embracing my imperfections. I'm embracing who I am. I'm not settling, or unwilling to develop. I'm just not living life as a set up for the perfect picture. Some of my imperfections are, I suck at details. I have a hard time communicating with clarity. My mind doesn't stop very often. I have a hard time being present because I'm always thinking into the future. I'm deal with insecurity often.


I'm careful to not believe these truths about myself, but I am learning to embrace these things as areas of growth instead of something I need to hide or living in a state that I am always trying to prove myself. Are you trying to create a perfect picture. Where at in your life are you hiding a deep dark secret or an imperfection that you don't want others to see. How can you embrace it and begin begin taking steps forward to get the help or development that you need. It's ok to wear a coat when it's cold.



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page